The Belle Stars were Jennie Matthias, Sarah-Jane Owen, Lesley Shone, Clare Hirst, Miranda Joyce, Judy Parsons, Stella Barker (and for a short time, Penny Leyton). They were a band from 1980 to 1986 (a 3 piece from 1984 to 1986) and had 4 Top 40 UK hits with The Clapping Song, Sign of The Times, Sweet Memory and Iko Iko.

They were signed to the now legendary Stiff Records, along with other classic artists such as Kirsty MacColl, Madness, Tracey Ullman, The Pogues, Jona Lewie, Devo, Lene Lovich, Ian Dury & The Blockheads and loads of others.

They released 12 singles (including the three-piece World Domination) and one album (seven-piece).

The seven piece Belle Stars split up in 1984 before the release of their second album which has still never been released. Sarah-Jane, Miranda and Lesely continued as The Belle Stars but released only one single, World Domination which hit No. 5 in the US dance charts.  They too recorded an album which has never been released.

Iko Iko later featured in the hit movie The Rain Main in 1988 with Tom Cruise and Dustin Hoffman and became a hit again in the US in 1989.

Hope you enjoy the site!


My Title


THE BELLE STARS - related sites